The existence of the Doctoral Study Program in Faculty of Medicine, Universitas Brawijaya (PSDIK-FMUB) was originated from the establishment of the Universitas Brawijaya Postgraduate Program (PPSUB) which was initiated in 1981. It was initiated by a collaboration between Universitas Brawijaya and Gajah Mada University to organize UGM-UNIBRAW Credit Collection Activities Program (KPK). This program aimed to assist Universitas Brawijaya in planning and implementing postgraduate education independently. After eleven years of having status in the UGM-UNIBRAW KPK program, based on the Decree of the Director-General of Higher Education No. 104, 105, 106 / Dikti / Kep / 93, since February 27, 1993, Universitas Brawijaya Postgraduate Program (PPSUB) has carried out its academic activities independently with three study programs at the Master’s level.

As the undergraduate programs at Universitas Brawijaya continued to grow, and there had been a noticeable increase in prospective students who aspired to the availability of new relevant study programs, starting from the academic year 1995/1996, the PPSUB opened seven postgraduate study programs. In the 1998/1999 academic year, PPSUB organized 12 Masters study programs and one Doctoral Program (S3) in Agricultural Sciences, including the Master’s Program in Biomedical Science (SK Dirjen DIKTI number 326 / DIKTI / KEP / 1998 dated September 14, 1998). On June 5, 2000, based on the Decree of the Director-General of DIKTI number 173 / DIKTI / KEP / 2000 the Doctoral Program in Medical Science was opened, so that since the 2003/2004 academic year the PPSUB Program has organized 20 Masters Programs and five Doctoral Study Programs.

Based on the Rector’s Decree number 30 / SK / 2006 and Rector’s Circular Letter number 2012 / J10 / LL / 2006, which requires that every master and doctoral study program must be under their respective faculties so since the even semester of the 2008/2009 academic year, the Master Program in Biomedical Science and Doctoral Program in Medical Science are under the Faculty of Medicine, Universitas Brawijaya (FMUB).

Initially, this study program had one specific interest, named: Biomedical Science, but after observing the development of interests desired by students and stakeholders as well as the communities, it was adjusted to the expertise of the lecturers they had and the infrastructure available, so since the 2001/2002 academic year, PDIK added special interest in the field of Reproductive Biology and Medical Technology in addition to Biomedical Sciences. Thus, since the 2001/2002 academic year, PDIK-FMUB has 3 (three) special interests, namely Biomedical Sciences, Reproductive Biology, and Medical Technology. In 2016/2017 the name PDIK-FMUB was changed to Doctoral Study Program of Medical Sciences (PSDIK) and has passed until now according to Rector Regulation number 25 of 2020 Article 297 concerning the Structure and Work Procedure of Universitas Brawijaya. In 2018/2019 PSDIK added new specializations, namely Social Medicine, so the number of specializations is four.

Relevant to scientific developments, since the 2005/2006 academic year, PSDIK opened a structured learning process. Basically, the “structured” education program in PSDIK is education that is independent in nature and the implementation of education aims to develop the personal interest of prospective students in achieving competencies that are in accordance with national education standards with international quality research.

In this era of globalization, advances in the field of life sciences including medical and health sciences as well as the field of information technology have made it possible to easily reach information on the development of medical science. However, to conduct studies on such latest developments requires scientists who fully understand basic medical science that can be applied by professionals for the benefit of human health. It is hoped PSDIK can provide output in the form of competent human resources (HR) in the fields of Biomedical Science and Biomedical Engineering, Medical Technology, Reproductive Biology, and Social Medicine.

In 2014 PDIK has been accredited and based on SK number 002 / BAN / PT / AK / IX / S3 / VI / 2010 dated June 11, 2010, which was determined by BAN-PT (National Accreditation Board for Higher Education), PSDIK received a B rating (good). In 2016 it was re-accredited and there has been a decision letter for a Decree issued by the Independent Accreditation Agency for Higher Education in Health (LAM-PTKES) no: 0286 / LAM-PTKes / Akr / Dok / I / 2016 by obtaining a B rating (good) which is valid until January 30, 2021. At the end of 2019, PSDIK was reaccredited and on 26 October 2019, LAM-PTKes Indonesia officially issued Decree Number: 0590 / LAM-PTKes / Akr / Dok / x / 2019 regarding Status, Value, and Accreditation Ranking FMUB Doctoral Program in Medical Science and decided that the FMUB’s PSDIK Accreditation was ranked A (Very Good) and is valid for 5 years.